TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

Advance/Retard

Old 09-27-2003, 04:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 89 RS
Engine: lo3
Transmission: 700R4 w/ B&M shift improver
Axle/Gears: 3.27 9-bolt posi
Advance/Retard

Ok, definitly a noob here. How do you advance the timing in our cars? Does it have to be done by burning new chips or is there some way to do it manually?

How much performance will i gain by advancing the timing, and by how much? what are the risks?
thanks upfront
-chuck
Old 09-27-2003, 05:46 PM
Supreme Member

Car: yy wife, crazy.
Engine: 350, Vortecs, 650DP
Transmission: TH-350
Axle/Gears: 8.5", 3.42
The timing tab is mounted to the timing chain cover, right behind the water pump. If it isn't there, then it's either been removed or fell off, or someone's changed the timing chain cover.

Disconnect the coil wire from the distributor.

Once you find the timing mark on the balancer, crawl under the car and have a buddy tap the starter to rotate the engine until you see a groove on the balancer that's about 1/8"-3/16" deep. Use white paint or a white crayon to fill in the groove so it's easy to see.

Hook the coil wire back to the distributor, and unhook the ESC connector. It's located near the blower motor on the passenger side firewall. It'll be the brown wire sticking out of a black wire loom. Just separate the connector and leave it sit.

Attach the red connector to the positive ("+" or red) terminal on the battery, and the black connector to the negative ("-" or black) on the battery.

Hook up the timing light using the inductive pickup to the #1 sparkplug wire. It's the one that's on the driver's side of the engine, closest to the radiator.

Loosen the distributor hold down bolt just enough that it takes a little effort to be able to rotate the distributor either clockwise or counter clockwise.