Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Car Audio (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/car-audio/)
-   -   Running 12's and 10's? (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/car-audio/233883-running-12s-10s.html)

87irocz350 04-06-2004 07:16 PM

Running 12's and 10's?

Ok, as some of you might has noticed..Im new to the whole sound system side of things. But, I have another question.

I bought a new Ultimate amp(335w)+Memphis sub(12",475w) audio combo, it sounds pretty good. But, I came acroos a good deal on a Rockford sub(10" 300w) and a Kenwood amp(200w) audio combo. So I bought it.
Could I run the 12 and the 10 together? Or would it sound like crap?

nibleT 04-06-2004 08:21 PM

you'll prolly get cancellation, meaning its gonna sound bad.

CaysE 04-06-2004 08:31 PM

What nibleT meant to say was you can do it if you want. :D You won't get cancellation (especially since they're not the same sub) as long as you wire them correctly. Personally, I think two different subs won't be particularly good looking, but it gives you a good range of sound to play with if the 10" handles slightly higher frequencies better. Go for it.

br()bert 04-06-2004 09:23 PM

It doesnt matter if they are the same sub, typical newbie comment their.:rolleyes: On paper a 10 and a 12 move a different speeds and this is what causes the so called "cancellation" I would stay with the 12 or the 10 but not both.

Boomin Boy 04-06-2004 11:10 PM

Originally posted by br()bert
It doesnt matter if they are the same sub, typical newbie comment their.:rolleyes: On paper a 10 and a 12 move a different speeds and this is what causes the so called "cancellation" I would stay with the 12 or the 10 but not both.