Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Exhaust (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/exhaust/)
-   -   Straight-Through Dual Pipes (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/exhaust/654692-straight-through-dual-pipes.html)

nwsurfrider 06-18-2012 12:36 PM

Straight-Through Dual Pipes

Hi All -

Noob here, and just getting started on the first few upgrades for my '84 Z/28 L69.

My question is, is there anyone out there who makes pre-fab straight-through 3" dual split pipes from shorty headers back? I've seen the Sinister, the Dynomax, etc. and so far haven't seen any true direct-fit, straight dual split pipes. Before I start fabricating my own, thought I'd check for the easier solution first with the group. Thanks for any and all feedback.

xch3no2 06-18-2012 02:55 PM

Re: Straight-Through Dual Pipes

You may rescind your thanks but I implore you not to do this thing you speak of. It is not a legitimate upgrade. I know of no manufacture foolish enough to market such a product.

Dakota W. 06-18-2012 02:58 PM

Buy some headers, magnaflow X-pipe, and make sure you run it all the way under the car to the rear bumper, and no bigger than 3" pipe, if you go any bigger on the pipe size or don't go to the rear bumper you will have noticeble low end torque loss.

nwsurfrider 06-18-2012 03:12 PM

Originally Posted by xch3no2 (Post 5305306)
You may rescind your thanks but I implore you not to do this thing you speak of. It is not a legitimate upgrade. I know of no manufacture foolish enough to market such a product.

I understand the obvious smog and legal implications, but the former is negated due to the fact the car is in a county that doesn't have any current smog restrictions. The latter, well, that's still an issue but something I'm willing to deal with. So my question becomes how is it not legitimate? Frowned upon, perhaps, but I see the "for off-road use only" warning on many, many products.