Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Removing the T/A Effects on a '84

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2017, 08:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Pontiac Firebird T/A
Engine: 5.7 GM V8
Transmission: T-5
Removing the T/A Effects on a '84

Hi all; been a lurker for a while here on the site, but just recently got around to becoming more active. Found myself buying an old '84 Trans Am almost 2 years ago, but it's been mostly a weekend project when I had the time for it. I'm a mechanic by trade, been doing it for almost 8 years (around 3 professionally) in total now, though my professional experience isn't as long as I'd like. But what can you do, right? Keep on wrenching, I suppose.

Here's an older picture of the car in question for reference; it's been a learning experience working on this thing, to be sure.

Finally getting in gear and going about fixing it up, but I wanted to change a little bit about it. It's a WY6 Trans Am; came with Lier Siegler seats, T-5, and most of the niceties that the other T/A's at the time could be ordered with. Decided long and hard about what I wanted to do with the car, and I eventually came to the conclusion that the ground effects had to go. Was on the fence about keeping them at first, but the more I got to thinking about it, the more I decided that I think they don't make the car "sleek", if you can say that.

Normally, I'd leave things like this alone (I also own two other old Jeeps, one of which is meticulously factory spec'd) but since I'm going to be driving this as a daily driver at some point in the future, I want it set up to my own tastes.