DFI and ECM Discuss all aspects of DFI (Digital Fuel Injection), ECMs (Electronic Control Module), scanners, and diagnostic equipment. Fine tune your Third Gen computer system for top performance.

Do I absolutely need my chip tuned/reprogrammed?

Old 10-22-2016, 07:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do I absolutely need my chip tuned/reprogrammed?

Hello all! This is my first time posting so I'll try to make this as clear and detailed as possible. I have spent hours, days, weeks, months, and years searching this site and have managed to make it this far with all my search results but right now I'm a little stumped and was hoping all you third gen geniuses could help me!

I have a 1987 Trans Am GTA 5.7L 350 TPI with a brand new GM L31R engine from Summit I just finished putting in but it is still not running 100%! I did NOT use the vortec heads it came with and took those off and put on the regular stock cast iron heads (casting #10239906) so I didn't have to track down a discontinued/expensive vortec TPI intake manifold. I did leave the L31R cam in there though and I'm starting to think I should have removed it and put in the stock L98 cam from my old block because it is idling rough and will stall at stop signs/stop lights and I'm getting a lot of unburned fuel dumped into the exhaust and it will not pass California smog and I cannot get my registration tags until I get this fixed and running properly. I was hoping it would all be done and this would be my new daily driver for now but apparently I'm missing something!

My first question is: After much more research I learned that I probably need the chip to be reprogrammed with the different cam but is this the correct fix? Or should I make more work for myself and take out this L31R cam and put in the old L98 cam?