Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Help!!!

Old 03-16-2004, 11:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 84 Camaro Berlinetta
Engine: LG4
Help!!!

hi every one!,

My name is Marcello im 17 i live in Toronto Canada, i jsut got a 1985 Firebird V6. I am about to purchase a motor/tranny combo from a friend that came out of a 1978 Z28, the motor could be a 305 or a 350 depending cause its not the original motor, so its just a matter of crawling under the car and checking the block. My question is how do i successfully perform this swap? i have never done a swap before, i am an apprentice mechanic with some mech. experience but i havnt done anything major. Getting the old V6 and tranny out isnt my problem. I just need to know what additional parts do i need? i know id need an exhaust which id scrap from a V8 F-body, but what else will i need? tranny mounts? motormounts? the tranny is a TH350 btw. The current Radiator is brand new, the a/c in in good shape, and the alternator is freshly rebuilt. are there any schematic pics or any site someone can recomend to me that have pics or diagrams for this swap? cause i know its a piece of cake, but again bear with me that i have never done a swap before, however im 100% eager to learn and do it. any help would be great!

Marcello
Old 03-17-2004, 02:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS
I won't remember everything so do a search, but...

You need the V8 motor mounts from a thirdgen. You will have to move the frame mount.

Tranny will require either a B&M adapter or a spohn crossmember and torque arm.

You need a a v8 radiator

You can forget using the V6 accesories, you will need v8 stuff.

If the v6 uses an intank fuel pump its gonna have to be replaced or a regulator is gonna have to be put in. The V6 tach is going to be off.

There is some more, but I can't think of it now.