Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Suffix & Casting #'s Codes question

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2016, 12:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 14 & 96 Camry's, 68 C10,70 Z28
Engine: Depends what vehical I'm driving
Transmission: Also depends which vehical
Axle/Gears: Also depends on vehical
Suffix & Casting #'s Codes question

Newbie here, I am trying to better get to know what is in my 68 C10. I know what you all are thinking at this moment whats this guy doing here, well so far what I have found out about the engine its a Firebird engine or it was the engine that was in use for the Firebirds that year and surprisingly it looks just like any Small Block Chevy engine. Here's the block casting #'s 14093627 so far what I have found out its from 87-94 & the driver side head #'s are 14014416 form 80-99. BUT here is the kicker the Suffix code is V0221AKA that's right the AKA is not a typo. This is whats stumping me being I know that GM engines with the AKA is a Big Block. What also I have found out is some of that years engines (87-94) have Suffix Codes as AKH or AKJ & ATA. What did I get myself into when i bought my Truck. I figured that going to a Third Gen F Body forums site would give me the best shot in getting some answers. Thanks in advance for any help. Marvin
Attached Thumbnails Suffix & Casting #'s Codes question-day-2-004.jpg  
Old 11-13-2016, 12:30 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 88 convertible
Engine: 5.7L
Transmission: 4+3 maual
Axle/Gears: 3.07
Re: Suffix & Casting #'s Codes question