LTX and LSX Putting LT1s, LS1s, and their variants into Third Gens is becoming more popular. This board is for those who are doing and have done the swaps so they can discuss all of their technical aspects including repairs, swap info, and performance upgrades.

5.3 into 3rd gen pcm question

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2013, 09:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 88 camaro
Engine: empty engine bay at moment
Transmission: empty spot at moment
Axle/Gears: 3.42
5.3 into 3rd gen pcm question

im new to the lsx swap, and I bought a 2000 5.3 motor complete with engine harness and pcm for my 88 Camaro. my Camaro is originally a v6 car that someone yanked the driveline out of, then I bought it. I want to keep the 5.3 pcm and have it tuned. i just don't quite understand how to integrate it into my Camaro so the pcm will power up and whatnot. i mean essentially, the pcm will need powers and grounds to make the motor run, so i assume i will need to splice some powers/grounds into the 5.3 harness from my Camaro harness? Also i think i can remove my stock pcm from under the dash since i wont be using that one correct? i tried to search for an answer but honestly im not sure how to word it. any help/clarification is greatly appreciated!
Old 08-06-2013, 06:52 AM

Re: 5.3 into 3rd gen pcm question

Think i found a place local that will modify my harness to integrate into my car and it comes with relays for fans and ignition for 200 bux. think im going to go that route. they label everything also and have tech support and install instructions
Old 08-06-2013, 09:21 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 92 Ttop Z28
Engine: Cammed 6.0
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: Built 10 bolt-3.90s w/ PBR discs