TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

Cut hose that's smoking by "stove pipe" on drivers side

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2017, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cut hose that's smoking by "stove pipe" on drivers side

A little backstory....Few days ago I received a 92 firebird, 305 TBI v8 with a 700r4 trans put in recently by the guy. When running it smokes from the hose cut I have circled in the attached pic I found online on this forum from another search.

Thanks for any help guys...is this just a "vent" hose I can just attach a hose to and let vent from the bottom of the engine bay? Or where in the world does this thing even go and what does it do?

I'm a novice with cars, I know little shade tree mechanic stuff here and there, but not super privvy in depth stuff, so simple step by step directions are much appreciated...

the plastic shift linkage broke on me yesterday and got that repaired today, but then apparently the tow truck knocked a transmission line loose so when I cranked it to verify the homemade shift linkage made out of metal now worked (which it does...yay) red kool aid came dripping out....that was lovely....an easy fix though with just more trans fluid and a new clamp. My dad did say the line looked like a cheap one though and eventually to go to a shop and have them put in a better quality one.

also....when first cranked it idles a little low and sounds rough, searching online a little people said to clean out the throttle body? When warm, it idles higher fine. It's never died on me, just sounds rough and crude at first startup for a bit.

Besides the smoking which smells like burned oil sort of coming from that hose, or at least cough inducing exhaust, and the low idle on start, and needing some new tires, I'd say the car's in alright shape for being ~25 years old. Was always a fan of these cars....sounds much meaner than my old v6 truck I got rid of for it lol.