Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

fuel pump question

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2008, 09:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Camaro
Engine: building a 350
Transmission: TH350
Axle/Gears: soon to be 4.10 non posi
fuel pump question

Hey everyone,
Im new to the Camaro world and recently bought a 1989 with the 2.8 multiport. Sometimes after driving the car (usually 20-30 min. of driving), when I get home and shut the car down the fuel pump will continue to run (sounds like the prime you get before startup), somtimes for 3 or 4 minutes. I cant imagine this being normal. Any insight would be appreciated
Old 09-06-2008, 10:12 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: '87 IROC/'68 SS
Engine: 5.7L/350
Transmission: 700R4/Muncie 4-spd
Axle/Gears: 3.27 9 bolt / 3.31 12 bolt
Re: fuel pump question

Sticky fuel pump relay maybe. Cheap enough to change.
Old 09-06-2008, 10:59 PM

Recently another fellow found his fuel pump stayed on for about 15 seconds when he switched his ignition from CRANK to RUN (but the engine did not start) then turned his ignition key off and pull it out. That got me interested. The fuel pump must be getting +12 volts from somewhere and it was not related to having the key in the ignition.