Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

8L90 - Will it fit?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2017, 09:07 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1989 Camaro Iroc-Z
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
8L90 - Will it fit?

I'm just getting started with the transformation for my 89' Iroc, and although the 5.7 and 700R4 have served the car well, they are just a bit tired and a bit sluggish compared to even modest modern cars. The solution - a new heart. To go with it's new heart, I want modern brakes, suspension, and transmission.

To the subject of this thread, I want to use the 8L90, but it looks quite large. I can't seem to find the dimensions of it online anywhere, so it's a bit tricky trying to figure out just how much room needs to made to make it fit. A lot of this work isn't just a bit beyond my expertise, it's mostly just beyond my available space and tools, so a shop will be doing the actual installation, but they haven't put this transmission in anything nor has anyone else I can find.

I really intend to use the car as a daily driver, so as many gears in an automatic as possible is the goal. If the 8 speed doesn't work, then the 6 speed auto is the next candidate, although it's still on the large side. Anyone have any experience or have any of the dimensions of these units?
Old 06-20-2017, 10:12 PM
jmd
Supreme Member

Received 41 Likes on 40 Posts
Car: `86 SS / `87 SS
Engine: L69 w/ TPI on top / 305 4bbl
Transmission: `95 T56 \ `88 200-4R
Re: 8L90 - Will it fit?

The 6L90 needs clearancing. The 8L90 is supposed to fit where the 6L90 does. And the 10L90 is supposed to fit where they do too.