Wheels and Tires Need help with wheels or tires? Got fitment issues? Have questions about tire performance and handling? Ask all of those questions here!

Deciding wheel sizes for a desire look, help needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2017, 11:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Camaro Iroc-Z
Engine: 305 5L TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Deciding wheel sizes for a desire look, help needed

Im a complete noob when it comes to tire specs and sizes however I know and are rapidly getting to know the car mechanically very well. I know the front and rear wheels of my 89' IROC camaro are different and this further complicates it. I am not a big fan of the stock wheels especially for my desired look. Im really looking for this type of stance(pictured below), my car will be sitting on Eibach sportline lowering springs and new stock-spec shocks. Really looking for a significantly lower rubber profile than my stock wheels and with thinner spokes that expose a lot more of the brake system (whereas I can barely even see my brakes through my stock IROC wheels); its just a really strong personal preference of mine, I cannot stand the rubber doughnut look.

Im definitely looking for gunmetal or black colors exclusively. Im also really wanting to space the rear wheels out further than my fronts, but im not looking for anything crazy just a slight bit of more offset for a wider stance. Im completely open to buying a used pair of wheels from other car models so im really looking for a general direction and some specific examples and not really looking for someone to say "these are the wheels you want buy these". If you could give insight onto some wheels and what they are (offsets, sizes) so I can learn rather than just get a "buy this" that would be great. I've been told Pontiac GTO wheels from the same time period are a pretty good match?