DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

EBL Flash: Dual Bank Wideband ZT-2 + ZT-3?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2016, 02:44 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1987 GTA, Digital Dash
Engine: L98 TPI
Transmission: 1994 LT1 T56
Axle/Gears: 9 bolt, 3.27
EBL Flash: Dual Bank Wideband ZT-2 + ZT-3?

Hi TGO,

I'm in the market for a wideband o2 sensor kit to go with my EBL flash in an L98 87 GTA. I'm new to this (of course) and have spent a few hours reading up on different systems to learn what I can first. I haven't been able to nail down a good comparison or installation example, however, of a dual bank vs single bank o2 sensor setup. Zeitronix seems to have a good setup if you combine a ZT-2 and ZT-3 (one each side of the Y-pipe), but would someone be able to explain how the second sensor could be used with the EBL flash and how much of a benefit it would have compared to a single bank setup below the y-pipe connection?

Even though the ZT-2 will accept the ZT-3 as a secondary input for datalogging and other things, will the flash be able to use a two bank input (via 2 ADC inputs) and actively use them both for engine management? Likewise for the VE Learn capability.

Thanks!
Old 09-27-2016, 03:22 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 92 Trans Am Conv
Engine: LB9
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.08
Re: EBL Flash: Dual Bank Wideband ZT-2 + ZT-3?

If you are using batch fire ignition, why don't you use one wideband and two bungs. Compare the output on logs to see. You can't easily adjust it, so you're really looking for the leaner bank. Then use that bank to log until you change something to effect engine air flow.
Old 10-06-2016, 01:17 PM

Definitely a thought. So with the batch fire approach TPI uses, it doesn't sound like there is really any benefit from being able to monitor data from both manifolds?
Old 10-06-2016, 01:30 PM

Originally Posted by RunawayRadio