Brakes Looking to upgrade or get the most out of what you have stock? All brake discussions go here!

Brake Overhaul Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2015, 07:48 PM

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Car: '91 Camaro Z28
Engine: L31 5.7
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 10 bolt, 3.73
Brake Overhaul Questions

First of all, long time reader of the forums but this is my first time posting. I actually tried to make a post last night, but it doesn't seem to have gone through... oops?

Anyway, I'm working on a four wheel disc conversion/upgrade for my 91 Z28, and I was hoping to get some help with a few questions I had. First of all, I'm replacing the rear drum brakes with this kit from Summit, and I purchased some LS1 spindles from Big Brake Upgrade for the front conversion. I was going to run stock LS1 calipers and solid rotors up front, but I was curious if anyone has suggestions that might provide a performance and/or weight benefit on the front end (preferably something you've used in your own car). Second, I've read some threads on the forums regarding a spring replacement in the proportioning valve and was curious if anyone with a similar brake setup to what I'm using has a lbs/in recommendation. It looks like a few people with similar setups have used the 30.82 lbs/in spring but I would appreciate any feedback.