Carburetors Carb discussion and questions. Upgrading your Third Gen's carburetor, swapping TBI to carburetor, or TPI to carburetor? Need LG4 or H.O. info? Post it here.

I'm new to carbs, need help with a reoccuring problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2001, 09:15 AM
ede
TGO Supporter

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm new to carbs, need help with a reoccuring problem

i have a holley VS carb that i got used. it's worked fine for the other guy for several years. i got it and the floats stick, gas comes out the vents. i've had it on 2 differant SBCs, had it rebuilt by professionals each time and it keeps doing this. there doesn't seem to be any indication it's going to happen until it does. any ideas what may be causeing the floats to stick, or the needle valves? thanks

------------------
ICON Motorsports

1st & 3rd
MM Black Diamond Lodge 538 F&AM
Old 04-08-2001, 10:52 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1. Your fuel pressure is too high. Side hung floats can only take like 4 psi. Center hung floats can take about 6-8.

2. Dirt in the lines keeps chewing up the needle and seat...put a fuel filter right before the carb. This happpened to me alot when I just had the stock inline filter...I had to add a second.

3. Something physical..like the floats are catching on something. Check operation and see...clean everything in there off real good while you're at it.

------------------
"American made baby. 100% American iron. The muscle among the masses. My hero. Yep, you can take your ergonomically designed, space age, computer controlled, 4 door, cup holding map lighted split double wishbone split fold down retractable cargo covered moon roof piece of transportation and keep it. For I have felt the thunder. And I know the difference!"
JSP Motorsports
ICON Motorsports
Old 04-08-2001, 11:42 AM
Supreme Member