DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Spark table

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2004, 07:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark table

I read the configuration out of the EPROM from my 7747 and was comparing to a standard 350 bin file I got on DIY-EFI. I'm new at this, but the spark table looks kind of off. Can this be right? Notice the huge jump in spark going from 800 to 1000 RPM. The stock table was smooth and gradual all around. Is there some reason it shoud be like this, or is possibly just in error?
Attached Thumbnails Spark table-spark.jpg  
Old 08-12-2004, 07:58 AM

Here's the factory spark table I'm comparing against. It looks smooth in comparison.
Attached Thumbnails Spark table-spark_factory.jpg  
Old 08-12-2004, 08:52 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: An Ol Buick
Engine: Vsick
Transmission: Janis Tranny Yank Converter
Re: Spark table

Originally posted by Mastiff
I read the configuration out of the EPROM from my 7747 and was comparing to a standard 350 bin file I got on DIY-EFI. I'm new at this, but the spark table looks kind of off. Can this be right? Notice the huge jump in spark going from 800 to 1000 RPM. The stock table was smooth and gradual all around. Is there some reason it shoud be like this, or is possibly just in error?
Looks like one of the add spark until it knocks and back down 1d type of tuning, IMO.

You'd do better, IMO, with starting with a stock table and then adding just enough timing to get peak performance.

There's a huge difference between those two sentences.
Old 08-12-2004, 09:18 AM

Funny thing is, I have no knock sensor and I didn't get any knock, even with this table. At least I didn't notice if I was...

Thanks for the help.
Old 08-12-2004, 02:13 PM
Supreme Member

Funny thing is, I have no knock sensor and I didn't get any knock, even with this table. At least I didn't notice if I was...
Thanks for the help.