DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Need help starting my .383 tune before I wreck it

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2017, 08:38 PM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Need help starting my .383 tune before I wreck it

I am just beginning tuning for my .383 engine project. It is a 7730 ECM and I'm using tunerpro rt and the autoprom from moates.net

My engine is actually a .377 stroker as the block is brand new.
I have AFR 195 heads 75cc chambers
My rotating assembly is internally balanced and all forged
I'm using the first fuel injection intake manifold assembly
I have 36 lb injectors
My compression ratio is calculated at 9.8:1
I'm using a comp cams hydraulic roller cam with 236/242 duration at .050 with a gross valve lift of .520/.540 and a 112 lobe separation (this was a recommended cam by the folks at comp)
And I'm using 91 octane fuel without ethanol.
Everything on this engine is brand new so, new spark plugs and new ignition components.
Base timing set to 6 BTDC
I also installed a higher volume fuel pump in the tank

My problem is this: I can't get the car to idle smoothly with the stock BIN file (it is a 305 engine bin file) the exhaust is producing soot and due to the much larger injectors I believe it's attempting to run very rich. There was one time out of about 7 attempts where I got the ECM to enter closed loop mode and the BLM count dropped from 128 to 108. So i dropped the VE tables by 20% in 5% increments and attempted to start it at each increment. It doesn't seem to make any difference in the very rough and sporadic idle.

Tunerpro is recording 4 knocks in the minute of rough idle but the engine sounds as though it's knocking about every 1.5 seconds on average but not consistently. And it pops or backfires loud about 5 times in a minute.