Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

new to chevy, help with tpi to carb swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2008, 10:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to chevy, help with tpi to carb swap

hey guys, i'm new to the world of chevy. I just purchased a 91 z28 with the 5.7 tpi and 700r4 setup. I'd like to know what's involved with swapping the tpi for a carburated 383 smallblock. especially when it comes to the wiring harness. Also how difficult is it and is it better to pull the motor and tranny as one unit? The wiring is much more complicated looking than what i'm used to. Thanks
Old 12-18-2008, 10:23 AM

Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts
Car: 82 Berlinetta/57 Bel Air
Engine: LS1/LQ4
Transmission: 4L60E/4L80E
Axle/Gears: 12B-3.73/9"-3.89
Welcome aboard thirdgen.org.

All of the computer (ECM) harnessing and sensors can be removed as one piece. The computer harness is the big bundle that goes to the passenger side fender well. There is a plastic fender liner to remove, then you can unplug the harness at the pass-through to the passenger compartment. The wiring you need for gages, ignition, etc., are part of the harness that goes through the firewall on the driver's side.

The exception to this is the transmission torque converter clutch lock-up - it's part of the ECM harness, and you need that if you drive on the highway.

It would be better, IMO, to just upgrade the TPI to a Holley/Weiand Stealth Ram intake manifold. It'll handle a 383 fine. You'll retain the advantages of EFI, including torque converter clutch lock-up, with none of the disadvantages of carb. Since yours is a '91, it has speed density EFI, which is more sensitive to changes like displacement and flow than mass air flow, and will require computer tuning. But, that's no more complicated than converting to carb.
Old 12-23-2008, 09:31 PM

Re: new to chevy, help with tpi to carb swap