Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

Hellz Bellz 2.0 Build : Fabrication

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2016, 01:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '90 RS Coupe
Engine: TBD
Transmission: TBD
Axle/Gears: 9" spool 3.50 gear
Hellz Bellz 2.0 Build : Fabrication

I'm new to this posting thing so forgive me if I'm skipping a proper intro thread somewhere. If so let me know. My name is Lynn, (male) 48 years young, long retired street/strip bracket racer with even a few years of dirt roundy round experience. I've been wanting to build another street/strip car for years and life has just gotten in the way. I even made an attempt almost 10 years ago at a big tire, tube chassis third gen and again life got in the way. I wound up selling it as a roller.
Soooo.... Here I am today starting new. I bought a very tired '90 RS coupe a couple years ago (the same time I discovered this site) and I'm just getting started on it. Initial plans were the same as my past builds back in the day. A Nitrous huffing big block chevy, th400 trans and a spooled 9". I was up in the air on back halving the car or not. After reading several build threads on this site, I see you guys are having way too much fun with these drag radial, turbo LS cars. So.. I'm convinced. I'm not a lottery winner and I do all of my own work so this will stretch out over a couple years at best. Anyway, here are the current plans so far...

-Stripping the car of everything not necessary to go fast but remain street legal in NC. (Horn, lights, wipers, full exhaust will remain)
-manual steering and brakes
-Weld in SFCs
-10 point Mild steel cage
-9" rear with spool, 3.50ish gear, 35 spline axles, lightweight discs
-Racecraft K member / control arms / rack and pinion / lightweight discs
-front coil over conversion/ double adjustable struts
-all Spohn or similar control arms, panhard bar and torque arm
-adjustable rear shocks