History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

Restore or go wild!?

Old 02-03-2010, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Restore or go wild!?

I've been lurking around this forum for a few weeks and have enjoyed the reading.

Here is my story.
In 1987 I was a sophomore in high school. One night me and a friend were hitchhiking from a hockey game back home when a black car pulled over and offered us a ride. The car had a new paper plate in the window and a guy in his mid 40s behind the wheel, turned out to be the dad to a girl we knew in school. This was the coolest car I'd ever seen let alone rode and then had the privilege to drive.
Black, T-tops, IROC and flat out awesome! Way out of the price range of a 15yr old kid working part time at KFC. Through the years I'd see one, go back in time to that car. Then grew up, had kids and just kept wishing and thinking "someday"!

Well "someday" came in August! I was with my wife and kids, we stopped in to my mother in laws house and there in the driveway was that "someday" car. I asked my wife, "who's is that"? She says its her brothers, since when? Like six years. Now we have been married 16yrs, how is it possible this kid had this car for that long and I never knew it?

We walk in the house, the car subject comes up before my feet have cleared the door way. My father inlay says "its for sale", my brother in law is 22 and has three kids and needs money. He then says it might already be sold. Not long after my brother in law shows up, I quiz him about the car, he says some guy that is a friend of his wifes family wants it, and offered to make payments for a year.