History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

New guy, need advice.

Old 06-11-2013, 07:09 PM

Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts
Car: 87 Trans Am
Engine: LS1
Transmission: T56
New guy, need advice.

So, I've come across the opportunity for 2 different Trans Ams.
Aside from knowing the basics like engine packages, transmissions etc (been a GM guy all my life) all I know about these F-bodies is from when I learned to drive manual at 14 in an 87 Iroc.
I was an auto body apprentice about 10 years ago and I'm very mechanical, having sort of done a bit of everything from 40's *****'s jeeps to jacking up new pickups, building race MX motors and the like... I'm a gear head in general.

So, I have a chance to trade my sled for:
This one, which I prefer due to the year, and the way it has been kept... However, I haven't found much about this "limited edition" package... Is this just a dealer trim thing? And what rear end comes in this car?
http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Pontiac/T...howcpo=ShowCPO

Or this one. I Think the paint may be in better shape, but it doesn't sound like it has been as looked after... And the motor is a TBI with less power.
http://ontario.kijiji.ca/c-ViewAd?Ad...eWu9m%2FFuT2E*

Plan is to have a nice sunny day, summertime driver that I won't be ashamed to go to car meets and stuff with, and then eventually swap in a carb 383 supercharged with what I hope to be, 600HP. Cage it, custom race inspired interior (basically gutted and done up with aluminum and carbon), enough suspension to make it handle, a T-56 yadda yadda yadda.
I'm currently in the midst of changing in to a trade (I'm in the military) where I will be doing custom metal work (airframe fabrication) and it will also include composite part forming (so I will be able to do my own carbon parts etc.)