Interior Discussion about interior restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Berlinetta Digital Cluster Schematics?

Old 01-17-2011, 03:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Berlinetta
Engine: 305
Transmission: 700R
Berlinetta Digital Cluster Schematics?

Hey all. I'm going to tear apart my dash to get at the digital cluster, but before I do, I was wondering if anyone knows where I can get some schematics or system overview drawings of the cluster unit. I'm an electrical engineer, so I can probably fix the dash myself, I just need a reference. If not, I'll be reverse engineering on the fly (not fun). I already have wiring diagrams for the dashboard, but I have nothing for the circuits within the cluster unit. If anyone could help me get these schematics, or possibly know who or where in Chevy I could contact that would be great.

Also, if anyone cares, the problem (which I've seen many others have had) is that my gauges are out of sorts and my digital display goes black when the headlights are turned on. Weird thing is, if I turn the dimmer all the way down the display comes on at it faintest setting. Any suggestions are always welcome!
Old 01-17-2011, 03:38 AM
Supreme Member

Received 42 Likes on 33 Posts
Car: 82 TA 87 IZ L98 88 IZ LB9 88 IZ L98
Engine: 5.7TBI 5,7TPI 5.0TPI, 5,7TPI
Transmission: T5, 700R4, T5, 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.08, 3.27, 3.45, 3.27
Re: Berlinetta Digital Cluster Schematics?

sounds like you have a ground issue
Old 01-17-2011, 08:45 PM

I just posted this on another forum, but here it is again anyways: