Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

thinking about tearing apart suspenion... have concerns

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 02:51 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 Trans Am 'vert
Engine: LB9
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.45 9 bolt
thinking about tearing apart suspenion... have concerns

Hey guys, I have a 91 T/A 'vert that has a lovely coating of surface rust on its suspension. Hopefully soon I can take it apart (probably not completely though) and bring the parts in for blasting/powder coating. My biggest concern is getting hurt while taking it apart. Obviously the car will be on jack-stands with no weight on the suspension but I'm afraid of springs or shocks exploding out of there when I go for it. Is there any force still packed into any parts even if the suspension has no load on it? Any tips, or special tools I need to get? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm new to this.

My plans are to remove the front control arms, front & rear swaybars, coil springs, rear diff, stuff like that. The car also needs new shocks (they work but they look ugly from age/rust).

Oh and what is the factory gearing in the rear end in this car?
Old 10-08-2009, 05:34 PM

Car: 86 Iroc-Z28 Camaro/84 BMW M Power
Engine: 350TPI/ S50
Transmission: t-5 five speed/ 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 3.42 posi/ 3.73LSD
Re: thinking about tearing apart suspenion... have concerns

When i took my suspension apart the coil springs were loose when i jacked it up so i wouldn't worry about them springing out. And i didn't have to use any special tools unless you count metric wrenches as special. LOL.
Old 10-08-2009, 06:37 PM
Supreme Member

Originally Posted by Iroc-Z28Man
When i took my suspension apart the coil springs were loose when i jacked it up so i wouldn't worry about them springing out. And i didn't have to use any special tools unless you count metric wrenches as special. LOL.