TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

383 Build Sheet?

Old 03-26-2008, 04:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
383 Build Sheet?

Hello,

I am new to this so please bear with me. I am getting ready to build my first 383 out of my stock 350, and I was hoping to get some advice before purchasing parts and machining work. I have built three 350's but never have delved into the 383's until now. With parts prices for 383's coming down to somewhat reasonable and needing to replace the crank anyway (spun bearing on #4) I decided to go for the big 383 and see how it turns out.

The idea behind this engine is to build it so that it will be completely streetable and be able to use the TBI system for induction. I plan on using the stock intake ported to match the larger 2" 700 CFM TBI units available from xtremefi.com and a custom chip from TBI Chips.com or PCMforless.com. Oh, and I of course have a tight budget thanks to my accountant (wife) of $1500 for parts and machine work so new aluminum heads and such are out of the question.

I have read most of the threads on this site relating to TBI 383's, and they have already influenced my parts selection.

Anyway, here is what I have planned so far:

BLOCK & ROTATING ASSEMBLY:
  • Cast Iron “K-code” truck block, 2-bolt main
  • Decked to 9 inches and squared to mains
  • Cylinders Bored and honed 4.030
  • Speed Pro Hypereutectic Coated Pistons for 383 engine, H859CP.
  • Hastings Moly Rings
  • Clevite Rod and Main bearings
  • All Fel-pro high performance gaskets
  • High Performance 400 Street Balancer
  • Scat 9000 Series Cast Crankshaft, P/N 935050L
  • Rods, lightened, balanced, polished & ARP “Wave-lock” bolts installed
  • Water jacket “Street filled” with Hard-block filler
  • Painted Black
  • Clearance for stroker crankshaft as needed
  • Lifter valley polished for smooth oil return
  • Lubrication holes smoothed and polished for more efficient oil flow