TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

Is it possible?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 01:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS Red
Engine: 305 V8 TBI
Transmission: TH-700R4
Is it possible?

Is it possible to have a 305 TBI in a 1991 chevrolet camaro RS with a .630 lift cam and still be able to drive it down the road, if so how can this be accomplished, i want that crazy nasty exhaust lope something fierce and am trying to figure it out, tpi systems can do it par say the videos why cant a tbi, I have heard that the fuel injectors will have to be upgraded, the fuel pump will need to be upgraded and the knock sensor will have to be disabled(was also wanting to install a noisy gear drive) and would have to install a fuel pressure regulator, help me out guys. I know it could easily be done with a carburetor but the fuel injection im new to this, in case you are wondering i also just rebuilt the 700r4 and upgraded the torque convertor to a 2400 series stall from B&M.
Old 09-22-2009, 10:11 AM
TGO Supporter

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re: Is it possible?

problematic to say the least. You need to run ECU open loop and need to install a wide band. Plus upgrade fueling needs and airflow in/out needs. Support is here.
Old 09-22-2009, 12:35 PM

now when you say open loop is that using a burning software and ability to burn the prom and disable the closed loop process and the wide band is that the power band of the cam shaft like say from 2500-5000? I just didnt know if it was possible on a fuel injection car without messing up the fuel injection, i knowed that the fuel system and air system would have to be upgraded thats a must, Thanks for the reply.

I read somewhere on here about a summit wideband o2 sensor control module or something similar is that what i need for the wideband, basically something to read and control the fuel mixture for the upgraded cam.