TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

TBI 350 Halp!

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2017, 08:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TBI 350 Halp!

OK, first off, I've been lurking for a week or so now just soaking up what I can, and I have to say, I'm excited to start my journey here. I'm new to American muscle, so everything is new to me.

OK, on to the business: last week, I acquired a 90 Firebird 350 TBI (told 350, haven't verified numbers). When I first got it, it would only start with starter fluid, and was running very rough, but I got it to my shop. As it sat idling, it blew the heater valve and voided the coolant everywhere. Replaced the valve that night, hooked up vacuum lines that were everywhere, and replaced the pcv valve. It still wouldn't start without starting fluid, ran OK after start on its own. Drove it a few times the next day. Day 3, I had it idling for a couple minutes, and it died. Now will not start, even with fluid, which I hate using anyway, since then. Last night, I replaced the fuel filter, and can hear the pump priming, I tried to test for spark, but due to what I assume is user error, I couldnt get it to spark. Changed oil/filter. Tried to test injector pulse with noid light, but get nothing. Had fuel up to the throttle body. Tonight, as part of tune up, I removed the throttle body and rebuilt it...gaskets were gross so figured it needed done whether or not it helps it not starting. On that tune up list is is plugs, wires, dizzy cap/rotor. Might also note it has new ignition coil. Other than that, everything is trial and error. I'll be tracing wires and checking for good ground tomorrow, but like I said, first American muscle car, so looking for some direction and tips.

Thanks.
Old 02-20-2017, 09:09 AM
Sponsor

Received 649 Likes on 573 Posts
Car: 1967 Camaro, 91 z28
Engine: Lb9
Transmission: M20
Axle/Gears: J65 pbr on stock posi 10bolt
Re: TBI 350 Halp!