Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

throttle body coolant bypass.. using A/C?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
throttle body coolant bypass.. using A/C?

I am not an engineer by any means but Ive been reading about throttle body coolant bypass.

General principle, whether it really means something or not is that because warm liquid is being pumped into the TB, it causes the air incoming to heat up.

WELL... What if we ran our air conditioning's fluid through the throttle body instead? Would this not cool the incoming air? Run an extension of our air conditioner's fluid system just after passing through the condenser? Would it need an additional pump to move the fluid? Would the required components to do this simply cancel out any gain we may have achieved?

I am merely just speculating and not by any means do i plan on doing this, just looking for theoretical discussion here.
Old 10-29-2010, 09:02 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1989 Iroc-z
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: Auto 700R4
Axle/Gears: 9 bolt - 2.77
Re: throttle body coolant bypass.. using A/C?