Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

rebuilding 700 r4

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2001, 12:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rebuilding 700 r4

I just purchased a nice 1984 firebird for $50. 2.8 six, only problem is trany doesn't work at all. pulled tranny, What can I expect, I am going to try rebiuld myself. I am a competent mechanic (engines,aircraft,harleys etc.) so any technical advice would be appreciated, I already ordered a tech manual. thanks.
Old 01-16-2001, 04:41 PM
ede
TGO Supporter

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
gm tech was going to do a tech artical on this but decided not to because of the limited usage. he said it takes way more skill than most auto trans and specialized tools most people don't have. if you do the r&r it should cost that much for a shop to rebuild. take a look at your book and decide. maybe someone else has doen it and can give you a more detailed answer. good luck

------------------
ICON Motorsports

1st & 3rd
Old 01-16-2001, 06:57 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: Take
Engine: Your
Transmission: Pick
Yeah, I was going to, but then I realized that I take for granted the resources available to me, and that the average DIYer would not have access to, so really, it would be useless for me to spend the time making and article on it. Thats kinda like the hot rod mags that say 12 second street leagal car is easy, here is how we did it. We started with a $3000 dollar engine, had a custom kanipity pin made which only cust us $900, then we had custom headers made and it was a steal at $1500, yada yada yada... Yeah right, the average DIYer drools for a minute, then puts the magazine back on the rack and picks up a Playboy.