Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Teach me about torque converters

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 10:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Teach me about torque converters

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this domestic sports car thing. Always played with forced induction 4 cylinders up until now, and in that world.... standard transmissions are the way to go.

I've read up a bit on torque converters, and the different stall ratings (brake, true, flash stall) and how torque converters work.

What I dont understand is this: I've seen it on two separate occasions. 1 very very built foxbody mustang, and one 454 pickup. Both of them, when they took off, would stall to the moon. I'd guess 3500rpm or better. And wouldn't move an inch. Suddenly they'd catch, and lurch forward so hard that they would break traction, and squeak the tires, just a touch. Why is this? What causes this, and what is the benefit of this? The driver's were not racing anyone, not in a hurry, and didn't smash the gas. The rev's came up slowly, and smoothly.

Infact, the 454 pickup, his tires squeaked several times. He was creeping up to a stop sign, and was several cars back. So each time he moved forward, the rpm's would rise, quite high, and then finally it's catch, and the truck would squeak the tires and jump forward.

Why is this?
Old 11-11-2009, 12:53 AM

Received 123 Likes on 104 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
Re: Teach me about torque converters

Originally Posted by StuntHeavy