V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

!992 Camaro V6 help.

Old 06-16-2010, 08:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 92 Camaro RS
Engine: 3.1L(191ci) V6
Transmission: 700-R4
Axle/Gears: 3.23:1
!992 Camaro V6 help.

Hi, I'm new to this thread and website. I recently picked up a 1992 Camaro, with a 3.1L V6, for $900. Tommorow I am replacing the distributor, as apparently the factory ones have a tendency to crack the reluctor coil. I have removed the A/C Comressor and Condensor. Installed a cone style air cleaner, and a 2" core Radiator.

My current problem is the engines useful powerband. Peak torue and Peak HP are close to each other, and well below my WOT shift point with the automatic transmission. My shift point is 5600 RPM. The engine is mostly stock and peak power and torque are at the factory spec RPMs.

Here is what I want to do with the car. I want to change the powerband for peak torque and HP futher in the high RPM range, but not above 5500 RPM. I wish to make the engine operate more efficiently, by installing roller rockers, an higher flowing exhaust, and higher performance ignition system. I'm not looking to break more than 200 HP, and no more than 210 Lbs-Ft of torque.

You guys have alot of knowledge, and I would appreciate any information and parts, and where I can order them, to help me meet my goal.

I do not wish to have people tell me to do a 3.4L swap or any other swap as well. I'm well aware of getting more bang for the buck with bigger engines. I just want to make my engine to be a highly efficient powerplant. Currently I am averaging well over 400 miles on a full tank of gas, and that is with a bad distributor. I also would like to have the engine operate more efficiently at peak RPM, during WOT. Right now it doesn't operate well at WOT, and I'm turning high 17's in the qtr mile.

I appreciate any help you guys can give.