Wheels and Tires Need help with wheels or tires? Got fitment issues? Have questions about tire performance and handling? Ask all of those questions here!

18x8 rims tire fitment?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2011, 08:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 99 SS G2
Engine: 389 rwhp ls1 n/a
Transmission: viper spec t56
18x8 rims tire fitment?

I'm new to these rims, i want to make sure i'm getting the right thing.

I found the ever popular 18x8 "iroc (style)" ebay rims

and, like i said, am trying to figure out what tires to put on it.

when it says 18x8, i assume that means 8" at the bead???

does that mean i can fit 245's on it? i assume so,

what about 255's ? they will be low profile, so i don't know how wide it can get before it becomes un-safe, or stupid....

what height do they need to be in order to have the same tire diameter as a stock tire (so i don't have to drive around with a screwed up speedometer / odometer ) ?
Old 10-19-2011, 09:00 PM

Re: 18x8 rims tire fitment?

actually, scratch everything i asked except for the 255 part..... 18x8's use a 245/40 X 18

so really, i just need to know if i can do 255's instead
Old 10-19-2011, 09:03 PM
Supreme Member

Received 44 Likes on 42 Posts
Car: 86 Trans Am, 92 Firebird
Engine: 408 sbc, 3.1L of raw power
Transmission: TKO600, T5
Axle/Gears: Moser 9", 3:70 trutac, 3:23 torsion

if you can find a 255....

245/40/18 is the most common for that wheel. and yes, the wheel is 8" at the bead, 9" overall

stock height is 25.7, dont go taller on the front, they will rub. you can go a bit taller int he back if you want, but again, there are not many tall options out there in that size
Old 10-19-2011, 10:11 PM

awesome, thanks 86.... and yeah,k i'm finding them pretty difficult to find in general, they make cheap cheap tires in this size, not much in the "name brands" so to speak..