TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starting issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2016, 08:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1986 IROC Z28
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: auto
Starting issues

I'm about at my wits end, bought an 86 tpi car 3 months ago with a blown motor..had everything rebuilt and installed, went to start the car and it sounds locked. I pulled all the plugs and #6 has so much fuel it's puking out the spark plug hole. I have to assume the injector is bad, but that's allot of fuel. Should I be looking elsewhere too ? I'm brand new to 3rd gens so I'm a little out of my league. None of the other cylinders appear to have this issue, the motor rolls over fine with no plugs (besides the fuel bath) I'm hoping nothing is damaged. I've got almost everything new when I was reassembling except a fuel pressure regulator but I don't think that would cause this issue. I pulled the upper intake and runner and found fuel even in the upper manifold, before I buy another set of rebuilt injectors I wanted to ask for pointers here...this car almost has me in submission.
Thanks for any input you can give me.
Old 11-20-2016, 09:59 AM

Car: 91 Z28
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Re: Starting issues

If you found fuel in the upper manifold you could try taking the vacuum line off the fuel pressure regulator. If there's fuel in the line then the regulator has torn and the vacuum line is sucking fuel straight into the intake. I wouldn't imagine that would be enough to hydrolock an engine so you might have another issue. Check all the injectors resistance with a multimeter. I can't remember off the top of my head what they should be but I'm pretty sure if any are below 14 Ohms that's bad. If you search for it on here you will find the proper specs.
Old 11-20-2016, 11:15 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 88 convertible
Engine: 5.7L