V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

Car has been sitting for a few...

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2011, 02:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car has been sitting for a few...

Hello everyone I am new to the board and I have just recently gotten a 1985 Berlinetta 2.8/5sp. This car has been sitting for a few years. I know it needs a new battery but what are some other things I should check before I try to fire her up. Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 04-09-2011, 08:58 AM

Re: Car has been sitting for a few...

Hello Ls9SkyRedline! Id like to answer your post, as i have some experience with this.

My 1984 Camaro 2.8 (you have a stick, SWEET!) had "Sat for a year" too. NASTY Oil in there, and again, no battery (had it towed.) I put a battery in, and it started up pretty well.. then died after 30 seconds or so. It had run out of gas, not had bad gas (it started after we added some, actually) .. and i drove my particular car with a Fuel Pump with a "ruptured diaphragm" for two months! Lost much gas, wasted much $, and no it wasnt safe. Your car is Fuel Injected.

That said, i would:

1) Get a battery with a GOOD long deep-charge OR smart charge, it will avoid issues (trust me, you get to know when a battery is at fault, and there are a couple of things you can do until the battery is just about 100% gone, which will happen eventually.)

2) Make sure FRESH fuel is in it, try dumping between 1-6 gallons (honestly one gallon should do it, then go to gas station) and FILL 'ER UP!! I am still debated between 87, 89, and 93.. myc ar is de-carboning so perhaps some more premium, then 87. 87 is likely fine, if its not a board member will say, i *think* Premium helps de-carbon and make the car not "run-on/diesel" idk.