Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Window Tint?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2010, 04:09 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 89 GTA/93 S13/91 Si
Engine: 5.7 350 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.23
Window Tint?

the california state legal limit on tint is that 70% of the light must be able to come in thru the side windows...BUT its like nothing O_o if i get my windows tinted...i want it to be kinda dark...what should i do???
heres a pic of opaque levels///
http://www.drivenautoworks.com/image...ng%20Guide.JPG
Old 02-08-2010, 04:32 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,052 Likes on 748 Posts
Re: Window Tint?

Well, you can either live without tint, or bend the law. If you bend the law, expect to get nailed for it when you get pulled over for any minor infraction. That said it's 35% minimum in Kansas and I've been driving around for 3 years with 5%, and haven't heard a word about it. But then the day before moving from South Dakota I got a fix-it ticket for my tint that I never paid... Last I heard they issued a warrant.
Old 02-08-2010, 04:36 PM
Supreme Member

oh ****..lol :P ur a wanted man...maybe ill do 50% or 35%???
Old 02-08-2010, 04:45 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,052 Likes on 748 Posts

Anything lighter then 20% isn't even worth doing.
Old 02-08-2010, 04:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 Firebird, 06 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Engine: 3.1L, 4.7L
Transmission: 700r4, 45RFE
Axle/Gears: 3.23 open, 3.55?

They are VERY strict about tint here in NY too.

I personally was going to get 5% on the back and 20% on the sides. I knew I would get a ticket with it; which is why I haven't even bothered doing that mod yet.
Old 02-09-2010, 01:14 AM

well I'll just throw a few things out here