Cooling Discuss all of the aspects of cooling that you can think of! Radiators, transmissions, electric fans, etc.

OVERHEATING ISSUE S.O.S PLEASE HELP A ROOKIE PROFESSIONALS!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2008, 11:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OVERHEATING ISSUE S.O.S PLEASE HELP A ROOKIE PROFESSIONALS!!!

My 92 camaro rs. 305 overheats after 15mins of driving. The coolant literally boiled out of the overflow tank. I noticed that it was spewing out of two disconnected hose connectors on my radiator. I have no heat obviously with no heater hoses coming from the heater core. I have no A/C, but i use my t-tops so that not a problem. I have included pictures to show you what we're dealing with. I believe this setup is extremely dangerous and more than likely the reason why im overheating, however correct me if im wrong again i am a newbie. What is my quickest alternative and cheapest way out of this situation, can i bypass the heater core all together and what parts will i need to buy? Thank you for your help in advance fellow chevyians!

p.s that little open hole i circled there what can i buy in place of the crankcase ventilation tube that was once there, keep in mind i bought this car the way it is, i have all new gaskets cleaned out the sludge and the 700r4 shifts amazingly, this car gets sideways when i hit the gas, but overheats like yokozuna playing basketball, lol jokes have to supress anger thanks again guys.
Old 07-03-2008, 11:13 AM
Supreme Member

Car: 1985 Berlinetta
Engine: Megasquirted TPI
Transmission: Transgo 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.42
Re: OVERHEATING ISSUE S.O.S PLEASE HELP A ROOKIE PROFESSIONALS!!!

Some bigger pictures would help.

What is the coolant level in the radiator like?
Old 07-03-2008, 11:23 AM

Car: 92 Camaro Z28
Engine: 383
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 9"