Cooling Discuss all of the aspects of cooling that you can think of! Radiators, transmissions, electric fans, etc.

replacing heater core

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2017, 05:40 PM

Received 40 Likes on 31 Posts
Car: 1991 base firebird
Engine: tbi 305
Transmission: 700r4
replacing heater core

replacing heater core-thumbnail_20170729_171831_resized.jpgremoved my heater core today. I have never done this before. I did what any modern person would do. I watched youtube and searched this forum. the biggest argument seems to be if you have to remove the dash or not. all parties seem to agree that this is a simple straight forward job except for ONE bolt. I agree that besides the ONE bolt its not too bad.
1) i didn't need to drain my coolant because my heater core had been bypassed.
2) removed passenger seat for room. you will be lying on your back. the seat studs WILL dig into your back at the worst times. just deal with it.
3) removed passenger side lower dash panel
4) laid on my back and started removing the 3 bolts on the air box cover
5) forgot there was a terrible bolt on the top
6) couldn't reach it so i removed the dash pad. still couldn't see it. put the dash pad back on.
7) finally saw that i could remove the ECU bracket and let the computer sit in the floor .there is a little black computer box right by the ecu. it can also be removed with two screws. this gives you a lot more room. this gave me enough room to reach up and around the top of the air box.

8) once i located the bolt it took about 25 minutes to remove it due to the angle and position. there is no room for you to use two fingers. you wont be able to turn it with your fingers at all. you can touch it to locate it but that's it.