DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Very lean on part throttle

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '91 Camaro RS
Engine: 355 TPI, Comp 268xfi, bowtie heads
Transmission: 700r4
Very lean on part throttle

Sorry to make another thread, but I think it's a different enough topic to not go in my thread about my ALDL problems, which have since been fixed.

Just finished my L03 TBI to 355 TPI swap, worked out all the bugs (wiring, cylinder select, bad PROM, Y-pipe didn't fit, etc), so I can finally get into the tuning.

It's my first time doing PROM tuning (as well as my first SBC rebuild, first engine swap, all in the first Chevy I've owned), so I'm having to learn as I go (I'm 20 years old, just getting into all this, and loving it so far ), and could use a few pointers

First thing I've noticed driving the car is it goes VERY lean on light throttle off idle, say about 5-10% TPS from idle to 2500 rpm or so, to the point of missing badly and almost stalling. Once the RPM goes higher or I give it more throttle it gets a lot better and my O2 reads about 700mV.

I haven't gotten to the point of tuning the VE tables yet, but I backed off some SA and lowered my injector constant and it got a little better. I'm running about 48psi fuel pressure (with vac hose disconnected) with 24lb/hr LT1 injectors

The engine is a 355 TPI (speed density, '7730 ecm), 10.5:1 compression, 2.08/1.6 aluminum heads, Comp 268xfi roller retrofit cam, 1.5 rockers, ported intake base/plenum, shorty headers to a 3 inch catback

Any suggestions? Or is more information necessary? I can do some datalogs, but I really don't like running my brand new engine with it running this lean, I feel like I'm going to damage it or something, I need to get it running better before doing more tuning

thanks
Old 06-21-2009, 12:28 AM

Re: Very lean on part throttle