DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

input/opinions please....

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Z-28
Engine: 383 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 2.73
input/opinions please....

Hopefully, this is the right forum....I am planning to build a 383 for my 91 z28. I plan to retain the stock type TPI system (may change intake, runners, etc...., but would like to keep all the GM software and hardware and retain the stock look) I am hoping for about 400 hp. Now, here's the question...... can I burn a chip that will make this motor start, idle and run as well as GM did?

Right now the car starts and runs perfect. No stumbles, hesitations, misses. If it is 10 degrees outside, I can start the car and drive off just like normal.

Can I make my aftermarket motor run just as well? (I am new to the tuning/chip burning stuff-- have a lot to learn, but before I go building a motor I want to make sure I can make it run/idle/etc.... as well as the factory did)

Last edited by 91 zeee; 10-19-2010 at 08:27 PM. Reason: spelling/content
Old 10-19-2010, 08:01 PM
Supreme Member

Received 370 Likes on 299 Posts
Car: 89 Iroc-z
Engine: 555 BBC Turbo
Transmission: TH400
Axle/Gears: Strange 12 bolt 3.42
Re: input/opinions please....

In short, Yes you possibly can.

Depending on how radical the combination is, it is doable. Wilder combos will be MUCH harder to get right and some you may never get it to be as smooth as factory L98 or w/e.

Will take lots of time and effort to do so on alot of builds however. Not to discourage you but does take some time to learn it all.
Old 10-20-2010, 08:43 AM

Car: 1993 Caprice wagon "Shammoo"
Engine: tpi'd 406, with P4 ebl EBL 730 ECM
Transmission: custom "4L65" swap.
Axle/Gears: 3.42:1 with posi