Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

Need help installing Cruise in a Non-cruise car!

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2001, 12:25 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '91 GTA
Engine: 402ci LS2
Transmission: faceplated T56
Axle/Gears: 9" w/ 4.11's
Need help installing Cruise in a Non-cruise car!

I have a '88 GTA auto parts car. It has cruise on it and has a new turn signal stalk and cruise switch. I want to put the cruise setup on my friends 5-spd formula! Anyways, has anyone done this before? What all do I need EXACTLY. I have some wiring experience but need some help getting it all figured out. I know I need the cruise assembly under the hood and vacuum lines etc, but how do I hook all this stuff to the other car? Any big issues?

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

------------------
'91 GTA:
www.fbody.com/members/91WS6GTA
Old 02-12-2001, 11:46 AM

Your only possible huge issue is if his car has a mechanical speedo. If his car has a vss on the transmission, it will not be a difficult swap. Here's what yuou will need to swap:

The cruise servo under the hood.

The electrical and wiring harness that runs from the servo thru the firewall by the pedals.

You'll need the vacuum and electric switches to put on the pedals, along with the brakets possibly. There should be a a vacuum and electric switch on for the cruise on both the clutch and brake pedal.

The cruise control module, the "brain"

The turn signal lever with cruise switches, along with the thin 4-wire lead with the connector on it.

The harness that plugs into the cruise control module and has connectors to go to the turn signal lever, the disable switches on the pedals, and the harness that goes to the servo.