383 crate motor
Thread Starter
Supreme Member
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,663
Likes: 0
From: Menominee MI
383 crate motor
i found this 383 off ebay...what do you guys think??? would it be a good buy or what??? sounds like a respectable company???
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...category=33615
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...category=33615
Supreme Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,563
Likes: 1
Car: 1991 RS Camaro (Jet Black)
Engine: 95 383 CI (6.3) LT1
Transmission: 95 T-56
That seems to be fairly priced, but I'd want more info on the lifters, crank and cam first. Looks like a quality build.
Last edited by pasky; Dec 24, 2004 at 01:12 PM.
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 43,187
Likes: 46
From: Littleton, CO USA
Car: 82 Berlinetta/57 Bel Air
Engine: L92/LQ4 (both w/4" stroke)
Transmission: 4L80E/4L80E
Axle/Gears: 12B-3.73/9"-3.89
They say the heads are new, but not what they are. I wouldn't call 2.02/1.60" valves "massive".
No cam specifics given.
Wouldn't spend money on an Edelbrock carb, personally.
Intake manifold is a cheap, off-shore knock-off.
"Pistons (Sealed Power or Comparable Quality Supplier)" - so, exactly what are you getting?
I've never heard of "Pioneer", the stated manufacturer of several internals like rods and rod bolts, but I haven't heard of everything.
"Horse Power and Torque have been verified by Dyno2000® and the Full Dyno report is included with every package*"
"The 453 Horse Power rating and 442 Torque rating are taken directly from the Dyno2000® report on this engine package..." Translation: They don't dyno the engine they're selling you, even though they want you to think they are. They're giving you Desktop Dyno2000 guestimates!
You might want to look around some more.
I don't know what his reserve is http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...spagename=WDVW , but I know this guy has built some awesome packages. He's got a 350 long-block for $1450. If he says he dynos it, the engine he's selling you has been run on the dyno.
No cam specifics given.
Wouldn't spend money on an Edelbrock carb, personally.
Intake manifold is a cheap, off-shore knock-off.
"Pistons (Sealed Power or Comparable Quality Supplier)" - so, exactly what are you getting?
I've never heard of "Pioneer", the stated manufacturer of several internals like rods and rod bolts, but I haven't heard of everything.
"Horse Power and Torque have been verified by Dyno2000® and the Full Dyno report is included with every package*"
"The 453 Horse Power rating and 442 Torque rating are taken directly from the Dyno2000® report on this engine package..." Translation: They don't dyno the engine they're selling you, even though they want you to think they are. They're giving you Desktop Dyno2000 guestimates!
You might want to look around some more.
I don't know what his reserve is http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...spagename=WDVW , but I know this guy has built some awesome packages. He's got a 350 long-block for $1450. If he says he dynos it, the engine he's selling you has been run on the dyno.
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
From: south texas
Engine: 355 6"rod tbi - in the works
Transmission: 4L60E
Pioneer makes quality stuff, they are no ARP though.
There's alot of what-if's. I'd hate to see you have to ship it back because something wasn't right, and then play the waiting / phone tag game.
There's alot of what-if's. I'd hate to see you have to ship it back because something wasn't right, and then play the waiting / phone tag game.
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
theshackle
Tech / General Engine
4
Sep 17, 2020 08:26 AM
theshackle
Tech / General Engine
4
Mar 5, 2017 06:37 PM
mhatfield 14
Tech / General Engine
5
Oct 24, 2015 07:48 AM






