Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Getting talked into 383

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 11:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting talked into 383

Like the title says, I've been talked into getting a 383 stroker from my brothers racing buddy's shop for roughly $2,500. Sorry I can't remember alot of the details besides it will be street/strip built with a 9.5:1 compression and it'll have re-worked stock heads, but most of the parts will be modified for better performance or bought from 3rd party. It'll be going into my stock 1984 z28 with a 5 speed manual (t-5?) and a 305 engine. The most horsepower I've ever been behind on a regular basis is an Acura PGM 2.7 v6 that only put out about 160 horse power at best so I'm kind of new to racing.

I've read alot of the threads started by/for people with 383s but not all of them answered the questions I have about them.

What are some good basic reasons to go with the 383 over an easier (and probably cheaper) 350 engine?

What upgrades to the chasis and drivetrain need to be done right away?

What power adders should I look into? And what brands? Nitrous is out of the question for me, just because of personal preference.

I realize not everything I'm asking is on the topic of engine swap, and some of this information is found in other threads. I was hoping to gather everything into one thread for ease of reference so let me know if I went too far out of line.

And of course, thanks for any replies!

Last edited by Zyth01; 11-27-2006 at 11:09 PM.
Old 11-28-2006, 05:58 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 87 bird
Engine: enough to break stuff
Transmission: manual th400
Axle/Gears: 4.10
you'll need sub frame connectors right away. then i would worry about getting the engine running properly.