Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Build vs. Crate

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 07:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS
Engine: 3.1 V6
Transmission: 700 R4
Axle/Gears: 3.23
Build vs. Crate

Hey Guys!! It's been a while since I have been on and for the few of you that know me you might remember I left for Army Basic Training in june. Well I am back now all graduated and with a hansome ammount of money in my pocket and I have a decision to make.

Build a 383 Stroker myself, or Drop a crate 383 in from one of a million builders??

I'm just asking for some opinions on the subject. Which is a better way to go and what are the best deals on crate 383s that you know of?

I know most of you might just jump to don't waste your money on a crate build it however I am not THAT experienced as a mechanic yet and so I would be relying on my step father alot for guidence and it might end up taking forever where as I could drop the crate in in a weekend.

Going to be looking for donor car soon so plenty of time to make my decision.

Looking for around 450 torque on the ground with good pull all through the powerband
Old 10-29-2009, 08:16 AM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 1987 Trans Am
Engine: LQ9/L92
Transmission: 4L60E
Re: Build vs. Crate

How about somewhere in the middle? Grab yourself a used block, get it cleaned up and assembled by a local machine shop? You can get the parts you want and you have someone experienced to assemble everything for you, all while saving some money over the crate route.

Tolerances and build quality matter more when you start pushing the power higher. I'd hate to trash some good parts because I didn't properly check my bearings or ring gaps.
Old 11-15-2009, 05:54 PM
Supreme Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1996 Camaro, 1985 Camaro
Engine: 3.8, 3.4
Transmission: WC T5, 700r4