Exhaust Post your questions and suggestions about stock or aftermarket exhaust setups. Third Gen exhaust sound files and videos!

hmm.. deciding between hookers, flowtech, or custom headers?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2007, 12:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 Camaro RS
Engine: 350
Transmission: T56
hmm.. deciding between hookers, flowtech, or custom headers?

hmm, I've been deciding for a two months now, which shorty headers to get.
a few friends says go with hookers, cause they are a leading brand, but some others says dont get them, cause thier not worth buying for so much, but instead getting flowtech headers, and my friend who rebuilt a camaro, put a 350 in it, and he had flowtech on, and they sound nice and pretty loud.

later today, im getting my paycheck, and Im trying to choose from, hookers, flowtechs, or get custom shortys (but I do know they do cut off alot of the gas milages and I dont really want that, and thier pretty loud.)

so anyone with ideas which ones I should get? Im looking for a pair that is pretty loud, but yet, a little more power, air flow, and hope it isnt a pair that will eat my gas up.
Thanks.
Old 12-03-2007, 05:04 PM

Car: 86 WS6 TransAm
Engine: LG4 4BBL
Transmission: T5WC
Axle/Gears: 327
Re: hmm.. deciding between hookers, flowtech, or custom headers?

Short headers cut gas milage?? Hmm.
Old 12-03-2007, 05:17 PM

Car: 89 RS
Engine: lo3
Transmission: 700R4 w/ B&M shift improver
Axle/Gears: 3.27 9-bolt posi

headers will only inprove your milage if your driving habits dont change. They'd have to be a really really poor design to make it worse.

Peoples milage goes down b/c its more fun to drive WOT w/ exhaust mods than without. More WOT = worse milage.

Any breather mod (heads, intake, exhaust) should increase your milage, but its too much fun to beat the **** out of it when you're done.
Old 12-03-2007, 05:34 PM

very true..