LTX and LSX Putting LT1s, LS1s, and their variants into Third Gens is becoming more popular. This board is for those who are doing and have done the swaps so they can discuss all of their technical aspects including repairs, swap info, and performance upgrades.

Need help with my LT1

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2017, 10:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1976 Pontiac Ventura
Engine: 1995 9c1 LT1
Transmission: 4L80E
Need help with my LT1

Hi guys. Earlier this year I bought a 1976 Pontiac Ventura that has the wiring harness, engine, and transmission out of a 1995 Chevy Caprice 9C1 (police car). It has the LT1 and 4L80E. I'm having trouble getting it started. Hasn't started since about October of 2016.

Now here's my problem: it's just turning over. If I spray starting fluid into the intake, the car fires for a split second and then dies. I'm brand new to the LT1 engine. Can you give me an idea where the fuel isn't going through? I'm getting fuel through the line, through the fuel pressure regulator. Is it possible that all 8 of my injectors are clogged up, or is it another problem? Thanks in advance for the insight.

Old 04-04-2017, 07:49 PM
Supreme Member

Received 140 Likes on 116 Posts
Car: 92 Firebird, 77 Trans Am SE, 86 Z28
Engine: 5.7 HSR, T/A 6.6, empty
Transmission: T-5, TH350, T-5
Axle/Gears: 3.08 posi, 3.23 posi, 3.23
Re: Need help with my LT1

Did you put a fuel pressure tester on it? What is the actual pressure?
Old 04-04-2017, 08:43 PM
Supreme Member

Received 174 Likes on 152 Posts

Originally Posted by 76Ventura
Hi guys. Earlier this year I bought a 1976 Pontiac Ventura that has the wiring harness, engine, and transmission out of a 1995 Chevy Caprice 9C1 (police car). It has the LT1 and 4L80E. I'm having trouble getting it started. Hasn't started since about October of 2016.