Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Third Gen or Fourth Gen Trans Am as first car?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 06:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Third Gen or Fourth Gen Trans Am as first car?

I'm currently 17. Eversince I saw Knight Rider when I was little I've always had my eye on the Third gen trans am as my first car. Now I have 2 months to decide my car and while I really want the trans am, it is not practical for me as I've learned because I'm a new driver, the car is pretty fast and is unreliable in terms of repairs and break downs. Instead, I panned over to the fourth gen instead, and it looks more better for me. I'm having trouble finding a v6 instead of a v8 just for safety etc. But what do you people recommend? Would the fourth gen be fine as a first car, given I am responsible and respect the power it brings that is under my feet? My neighborhood and city is fairly small so I don't expect to be speeding and racing (forget racing, that's a bad thing to do for a first timer). I know my insurance is going to go up, but the insurance is bound to be high for a first timer, and a v8 only makes it even higher than a v6 would. Still. has anyone here had a similar experience? Or had a Trans Am as a first car?
Old 05-11-2017, 07:07 PM
Supreme Member

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 1988 GTA
Engine: LB9
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.45
Re: Third Gen or Fourth Gen Trans Am as first car?

Start with a fourth gen with a 3.8. Cheap to buy, insure, maintain and feed fuel. And it will have better safety features than a third gen for a new driver. Prove to yourself that you can keep it running for a few years.
Old 05-11-2017, 11:23 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 89 Trans am
Engine: 5.7 TPI