Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Frame Rails

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2019, 03:56 PM
Cme

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 camaro rs
Engine: 5.0
Transmission: ?
Axle/Gears: ?
Frame Rails

Hey everyone, I have a question for You all. Can the drivers side frame rail be replaced without taking the entire front end off? I just bought my first camaro as a project car and found out after the fact the the frame rail on the drivers side is about rotted out. Also anything else i need to know about this would be great. As I said its my first project car. I do all my own machanic work but body and frame i know nothing about. Thans in advance for any help
Old 05-01-2019, 03:57 PM
Cme

Re: Frame Rails

The pictures are from where the front sway bar mounts to the frame rail but i found out the its pretty much shot
Old 05-01-2019, 05:01 PM
Supreme Member

Received 44 Likes on 42 Posts
Car: 86 Trans Am, 92 Firebird
Engine: 408 sbc, 3.1L of raw power
Transmission: TKO600, T5
Axle/Gears: Moser 9", 3:70 trutac, 3:23 torsion

My first bit of advise would be to look over the entire underside of the car since I find it very unlikely this area is rotted out and nothing else is.

As for the repair, there is no 'frame' it's a unibody, so you would need to cut out the bad section and graft un a new piece from a doner vehicle. You can probably do it without pulling the engine, probably just pull the steering, radiator wheel tire and sway bar to get at it.
Old 05-01-2019, 05:18 PM
Cme

Ok, i think what happened is it was in a wreck which compromised the integrity on this side. The rest of it look normal for its age. It sound like the only way is to pull the front end off. I guess i'll just sell it as a parts car. Thats not something i have the knowledge, tools or ambition to do. Thank you for your reply
Old 05-01-2019, 05:34 PM
Supreme Member

Received 76 Likes on 66 Posts
Car: 1991 Z28 Vert
Engine: 383 single plane efi
Transmission: T-56