Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Ignition timing issue

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2019, 08:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ignition timing issue

I have been trying to tune my carbed 327, and it seems like it runs okay, considering that I'm just beginning to get this build dialed in.
The build is close to stock with a 204@.050" cam and 8.6:1 CR and shorty headers. I have a Quadrajet and an HEI
I have been getting the feeling that I made an error when I was setting up my timing pointer to it's mark, because it seems to idle best at 45deg advanced with manifold vacuum hose attached.
So just to keep things moving along, I remembered something I was told; and that was, if you don't have a timing light, you can set the idle advance with a vaccum gauge by turning it to the point where it's at max vacuum.
Well I did that, and then double checked it with a light and it's still wanting to idle at 45deg.
So until I re calibrate my timing marks, i'm playing it by ear... or by smell.
So ignoring the #s ... I'm getting a smell from the exhaust that makes my eyes water and burns my nostrils.
I leaned the mixture... When it's running rich, it smells like the choke is on, sort of.
What is it an indication of (timing-wise) when the exhaust burns your eyes? Anything?
I'm just viewing this as an educational experience for now
It's good to know of alternative methods when the #s don't seem right

Thanks
Old 02-14-2019, 10:27 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 1987 Z28 Camaro
Engine: 305 LG4 4bbl
Transmission: TH700R4
Re: Ignition timing issue

While we wait for Sofakingdom's response (this one is right up his alley)

1. get the car warm
2. disconnect the vac hose