Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Basic engine rebuild questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2019, 02:37 PM

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Car: 1990 Firebird Formula
Engine: 305 V8
Basic engine rebuild questions

So I just talked to my builder today and he said he cleaned the rings ect, and they’re at their max. Thats before cleaning out the carbon which could make them a little worse. Sorry Im not very technical with engines but hence the reason for this post....Anyways, he recommended boring the cylinders .020 / .030 over, new pistons and rings. He said he could have a rebuild kit made up if I wanted but said he’d give me time to think about the options. I know I could ask the builder all these but for the sake of his time and to get more feedback I wanted to post here.

So few quick questions.
1) 350 .030 over is a 355. Right?
2) Would I be able to use the stock crank after its bored (if its in reusable condition)
3) Would changing the crank to a 400 make the 350 .030 over a 383?
4) He suggested flat top pistons if I wanted more performance and to keep compression down.

I am back and forth going 383 over a 355 because I feel like the 383 would have much more of a snowball effect on the car (rear/tranny/ect) compared to staying with the 355. I know price wise its not a huge difference.
Old 08-27-2019, 08:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Basic engine rebuild questions