Third Gen Association of Ontario Regional message board for everyone in Southern Ontario and nearby regions.

Ontario Emissions

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2002, 03:46 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ontario Emissions

Hi,
I'm a student in the U.S. right now, but was born and raised in Edmonton.
I'm looking to leave the U.S. (y'know, you just get fricking tired of all the Canadian jokes ), and attend school in the Toronto area.
My car hasn't been registered since it was in Edmonton, and I'm wondering what the emissions inspection will be like. I ask, because my car is about to lose a bunch of stock stuff.

Currently, I have a mostly stock bolt-on 305 TBI car ('89) that would pass emissions as it is, I'm sure. I have a flowmaster 3" system with a summit cut-out, a 3" Catco 3 way (in other words, it's got the air pump line attached to the new cat), an open element filter, and a few other non-emissions affecting things.

Right now, I have an LT1 cam with lifters sitting in my dorm room, along with new K-motion springs, and a new manifold coming soon. I'm going to a ~600 cfm carb sometime during the summer also.

My question is, with a carb, a dual plane intake manifold, the LT1 cam, and my exhaust, can I pass Ontario emissions? I've looked closely at an Ontario emissions results sheet for my girlfriends car, but I was unable to see if there was a visual inspection underhood. Let's assume that I'm able to get my car under the pollutant limits, like oxides of nitrogen , CO, etc. I'm mostly concerned about the visual. Is there one? How strict? How were your experiences with your/similar combo's?
Thanks a lot for your help.
Old 04-18-2002, 03:54 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts