TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TPI vs TBI

Old 10-26-2007, 02:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TPI vs TBI

Hi I understand cars in general, but I'm new to F Bodies

Can someone tell me the exact difference between TPI and TBI?
I'm not a novice when it comes to fuel injection-I just don't know the difference between these two specific systems

thanks for any help
Old 10-26-2007, 03:07 PM
TGO Supporter

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS Vert
Engine: 350 S-TPI
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: GU5/G80/J65
Re: TPI vs TBI

TPI looks like a silver spider.
TBI looks like a carb.

TPI has a fuel injector for each cylinder, has runners, and a throttle body facing the front of the motor. Is generally more efficent then TBI or a carb.

TBI works almost just like a carb. Except rather then fuel just getting poured in, its sprayed with 2 fuel injectors. Is generally more efficent then a carb

Both have sensors all over the motor, controlled via a computer.
Old 10-26-2007, 03:09 PM

Ah right so TBI is just a more primitive system than TPI?
Old 10-27-2007, 02:31 PM
Supreme Member

Received 106 Likes on 65 Posts
Car: '90 Trans Am-12.45@110.71
Engine: 355 w/AFR 195's Elem. 400/430 HP/TQ
Transmission: Tremec T-56
Axle/Gears: 12 Bolt 3.73

Originally Posted by iain.thornton
Bingo....you are correct!
Old 10-28-2007, 08:26 AM
Supreme Member

Received 174 Likes on 152 Posts

Originally Posted by iain.thornton
I wouldn't say more primitive, just less complicated....
Old 10-28-2007, 09:19 AM
Supreme Member

Car: 1982 Trans Am & 1982 Corvette
Engine: L-98 with LO-3 induction. 350 CFI
Transmission: 5 speed and vette has 700r4
Axle/Gears: 373's in T/A .. vette unknown

TBI